Moorman-Simon Program

Moorman-Simon Program for Education and Schooling for Democracy and Citizenship


The Moorman-Simon Program for Education and Schooling for Democracy and Citizenship was established in March 2011. This program is working to advance three critical Netter Center priorities: engaging Penn students, creating interdisciplinary support for Penn faculty, and expanding Netter Center programming. Matthew Hartley (Graduate School of Education) was appointed as the first Faculty Fellow through this program to serve as a liaison between the Netter Center and the faculty of Penn's 12 schools (2011-2014).  Carol Muller (Music, School of Arts and Sciences) was appointed in 2014 as the second Moorman-Simon Faculty Fellow.


Thematic Faculty Seminars have been created under the Moorman-Simon Program for Education and Schooling for Democracy and Citizenship. The thematic seminars and faculty conveners include:


  • Arts, Culture, and Humanities: Carol Muller, Professor of Music and Moorman-Simon Faculty Fellow
  • The Role of Higher Educational and Other Anchor Institutions in Promoting Employment and College and Career Readiness of HIgh School Students in Philadelphia: Laura Perna, James S. Riepe Professor, Graduate School of Education
  • Public Schools: John Puckett, Professor, Graduate School of Education
  • Sociology Departmental ABCS Seminar: Emilio Parrado, Chair and Professor of Sociology, Director of Latin American and Latino Studies; Melissa Wilde, Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Academically Based Community Service (ABCS) Teaching: Matthew Hartley, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor, Graduate School of Education; Karen Detlefsen, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Education
  • Improving Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Undergraduate Education through K-20+ Partnerships: Dennis DeTurck, Stephen A. Levin Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, Robert A. Fox Leadership Professor, and Professor of Mathematics; and Larry Gladney, Associate Dean for the Natural Sciences and Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Professor for Faculty Excellence, Department of Physics and Astronomy


Previous seminars have included: 


  • Environment and Health: Richard Pepino, Lecturer, Department of Earth and Environmental Science
  • Nutrition and Health: Francis Johnston, Professor Emeritus of Anthropology; and Terri Lipman, Assistant Dean for Community Engagement, Miriam Stirl Endowed Professor of Nutrition, and Professor of Nursing of Children


Moorman-Simon Faculty Fellows:

Carol Muller (2014-present)

Matthew Hartley (2011-2014)