The Netter Center is currently operating remotely.  Please contact for general inquiries.

View the latest "Letter from Netter": Information & Virtual Enrichment Activities for University-Assisted Community Schools families. For previous issues, visit UACS webpage

Penn coronavirus website:
School District coronavirus website:

Netter Center Statement on Recent Tragic Events - June 2, 2020

Faculty Advisory Board

Photo of Faculty-Community Award Pepino Beavers Muller

Second Annual Faculty-Community Partnership Award

Dennis DeTurck (Co-Chair)
Robert A. Fox Leadership Professor, Undergraduate Chair and Professor of Mathematics, School of Arts & Sciences

John Gearhart (Co-Chair)
James W. Effron University Professor, Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology in the Perelman School of Medicine, and Professor of Biomedical Sciences in the School of Veterinary Medicine

John Jackson, Jr. (Co-Chair)
Walter H. Annenberg Dean of the Annenberg School for Communication and Richard Perry University Professor of Communication, Africana Studies, and Anthropology

Terri Lipman (Co-Chair)
Miriam Stirl Endowed Term Professor of Nutrition, Professor of Nursing of Children, Assistant Dean for Community Engagement, and Interim Program Director of the Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program, School of Nursing

Francis E. Johnston (Co-Chair Emeritus)
Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, School of Arts & Sciences

Regina Austin
William A. Schnader Professor of Law and Director of Penn Program on Documentaries & Law, Penn Law

Herman Beavers
Professor of English and Africana Studies, School of Arts & Sciences

Eugenie Birch
Lawrence C. Nussdorf Professor of Urban Research and Education and Chair of the Graduate Group in City and Regional Planning, PennDesign; Co-Director of the Penn Institute for Urban Research (PennIUR)

Ram Cnaan
Program Director for the Program for Religion and  Social Policy Research, Faculty Director of the Goldring Reentry Initiative, and Professor, School of Social Policy & Practice

Michael Delli Carpini
Professor of Communication, Annenberg School for Communication

Karen Detlefsen
Associate Professor of Philosophy and Education, School of Arts and Sciences

Loretta Flanagan-Cato
Associate Professor of Psychology and Co-director of the Biological Basis of Behavior Program, School of Arts & Sciences

Vivian L. Gadsden
William T. Carter Professor of Child Development and Education, Director of National Center for Fathers and Families, and Associate Director of the National Center on Adult Literacy, Graduate School of Education

Robert F. Giegengack
Professor Emeritus of Earth and Environmental Science, School of Arts & Sciences

Joan Gluch
Associate Dean for Academic Policies and Division Chief and Professor of Clinical Community Oral Health, Penn Dental Medicine

David Grazian
Graduate Chair and Associate Professor, Sociology, School of Arts & Sciences

Matthew Hartley
Professor of Education and Associate Dean  for Academic Affairs, Graduate School of Education; founding Executive Director of the Penn Alliance for Higher Education and Democracy (AHEAD)

John C. Keene
Professor Emeritus of City and Regional Planning, PennDesign

William Labov
John H. and Margaret B. Fassitt Professor of Linguistics Emeritus, School of Arts & Sciences

Walter Licht
Walter H. Annenberg Professor of History, School of Arts & Sciences

Carol Ann Muller
Professor of Music and Director of the Minor in Jazz and Popular Music Studies, School of Arts and Sciences; Faculty Director of the Urban Arts, Culture, and Humanities Partnership Program at the Netter Center

Emilio Parrado
Department Chair and Dorothy Swaine Thomas Professor of Sociology, School of Arts & Sciences

Laura Perna
James S. Riepe Professor of Education and Chair of the Higher Education Division, Graduate School of Education; Executive Director of the Penn Alliance for Higher Education and Democracy (AHEAD)

Scott Poethig
John H. and Margaret B. Fassitt Professor of Biology, School of Arts & Sciences

John L. Puckett
Professor of Education in the Literacy, Culture, and International Education Division, Graduate School of Education

Ralph M. Rosen
Vartan Gregorian Professor of the Humanities and Undergraduate Chair and Professor of Classical Studies, School of Arts & Sciences

Brian Spooner 
Professor of Anthropology, School of Arts & Sciences

Susan Wachter
Albert Sussman Professor of Real Estate and Professor of Finance, The Wharton School; Co-Director of the Penn Institute for Urban Research (PennIUR)

Michael Zuckerman
Professor of History Emeritus, School of Arts & Sciences

Netter Center Distinguished Senior Fellows Emeritus:

Robert Giegengack

Francis E. Johnston

William Labov

Vivianne Nachmias

Netter Center Distinguished Senior Fellow:

Dennis DeTurck

Netter Center Distinguished Fellows:

Matthew Hartley

Terri Lipman

Carol Ann Muller

John Puckett