The Netter Center is currently operating remotely.  Please contact for general inquiries.

View the latest "Letter from Netter": Information & Virtual Enrichment Activities for University-Assisted Community Schools families. For previous issues, visit UACS webpage

Penn coronavirus website:
School District coronavirus website:

Netter Center Statement on Recent Tragic Events - June 2, 2020


Terri Lipman, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, and Inthedance, LLC Named Recipients of the 2019 Provost-Netter Center Faculty-Community Partnership Award

Friday, May 3, 2019

2019 Provost-Netter Center Faculty-Community Partnership Award Ceremony

Ira Harkavy, Terri Lipman, Selena Earley, David Earley, and Provost Wendell Pritchett

Penn Provost Wendell Pritchett and Netter Center Director Ira Harkavy have named Dr. Terri Lipman of the School of Nursing and her partners at Inthedance, LLC as the recipients of the 2019 Provost-Netter Center Faculty-Community Partnership Award.

Terri H. Lipman, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, is the Assistant Dean for Community Engagement, the Miriam Stirl Endowed Term Professor of Nutrition, and Professor of Nursing of Children at the School of Nursing, and maintains a clinical practice as a pediatric nurse practitioner in the Division of Diabetes and Endocrinology at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP).

Lipman is being recognized for her outstanding engagement of Penn nursing students and faculty in Academically Based Community Service (ABCS) partnerships that work to improve community health, as well as for the quality and sustainability of her community partnerships, and the positive impact on both physical and mental health for all participants involved.

Lipman has taught ABCS courses continuously since 2006 and has helped grow the total number of ABCS courses in the School of Nursing from five to eleven since assuming the role of Assistant Dean for Community Engagement in 2015. “ABCS has been transformational in the way that I teach, approach research and engage with patients in my clinical practice,” said Lipman.

David Earley and Selena Williams Earley founded Inthedance, LLC in 2002 as a movement and dance program that offers innovative ways to enhance physical exercise, range of motion, balance and body mechanics through dance.

As a component of her ABCS teaching and research, Lipman partnered with Inthedance to launch the Dance for Health (DFH) program at the Sayre Recreation Center in 2012 to increase access to physical activity. DFH engages multiple generations in dance in a safe, indoor environment at no cost to participants. To date, DFH has engaged over 700 participants at Sayre, expanded to four additional sites in West Philadelphia, and demonstrated a positive impact on cardiovascular health, memory, social support, and anxiety reduction. Teams of Penn nursing students and Sayre High School students who collaborated to implement and evaluate the program, have also jointly given scientific presentations and received awards at national pediatric nursing conferences across the US. David and Selena Earley have presented at multiple Penn conferences and courses and served as coauthors on publications about DFH.

“With our community partners, Inthedance, LLC, Dance for Health has provided hundreds of nursing students with the opportunity to address social determinants of health and engage with community members for mutually beneficial outcomes,” said Lipman.

The Provost and Netter Center hosted a ceremony to present this award to Dr. Lipman and her partners at IntheDance, LLC on Friday, May 3, 2019 at the Inn at Penn. “Thank you to the Provost-Netter Center team for recognizing us, and to Terri Lipman, our partner and friend,” said the Earleys. “Having some of our Dance for Health participants with us today to share in this honor is our biggest reward.”

The annual Provost-Netter Center Faculty-Community Partnership Award recognizes sustained and productive university/community partnerships. Junior and senior faculty along with senior lecturers and associated faculty from any of Penn’s 12 schools are eligible for nomination, together with their community partners. The $10,000 prize is split between the faculty member and the community partner.

The Provost-Netter Center Faculty-Community Award Review Committee was chaired by Carol Ann Muller, Professor of Music and Director of the Minor in Jazz and Popular Music Studies and also included Dennis DeTurck, Robert A. Fox Leadership Professor and Professor and Undergraduate Chair of Mathematics; Vernoca Michael, Director of the Paul Robeson House and Museum; and John Puckett, Professor in the Graduate School of Education.